Film

‘A Clockwork Orange’ Review

A Clockwork Orange is a crime/sci-fi movie which was made from the book. This was directed by Stanley Kubrick.

This movie has been on my to-watch list for quite some time now. I was intrigued as there were so many reviews. Also, another reason why I wanted to watch it so much, is that it was mentioned in One Tree Hill, which is everything to me. A film maker in the show loved the movie and since then, I wanted to see it.

My first impression what just shocking. I was so confused. I feel like I would have been even more confused if my friend was not there to explain things throughout. There were a lot of odd scenes which I just did not understand why they were in there and necessary. But I guess it just all tells the story. I think the casting was great and Malcolm McDowell performed great. He betrayed the character so well, no matter how creepy and odd it was.

After watching this, I was reading through some reviews and why it was actually called the clockwork orange. I had no idea during the actual movie. So, the basic concept is that in the movie, they have their own sort of language which was cleverly scripted. And in this, the word ‘Orange’, means ‘Man’. So it is the Clockwork Man. This is what Alex in the film is which shows his personality. I thought this was so eye opening and creative.

Others also mentioned that they also did not enjoy it that much when they first watched it. After they watched it a second time or more, they loved it and understood it all so much more. So I feel like if I watch it again, I would probably enjoy it a lot more. But I still wanted to write this first review before doing that.

Good luck to me watching this again soon, haha 🙂

x

 

Leave a Reply

